Finally in Vietnam! - Reisverslag uit Hanoi, Vietnam van Evelien Hartman - WaarBenJij.nu Finally in Vietnam! - Reisverslag uit Hanoi, Vietnam van Evelien Hartman - WaarBenJij.nu

Finally in Vietnam!

Door: Webmaster

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Evelien

24 Februari 2010 | Vietnam, Hanoi

While I am writing this I am sitting at Bobby Brewers, a kind of rip off of Starbucks but very nice, drinking a iced tea hazelnut latte looking down at the bustling street from the First Floor on this incredible Sunny and warm day.

Every day there is good weather which means at night time it is around 26 degrees and at daytime from 37 up to 42 degrees sometimes. Siesta is needed here and often I sit down on a terras or I lay down on my couch on my patio outside.

Days are flying here and passes in a way hours are passing. I feel fortunate I am here and I definately don’t regret my flight to Vietnam. Traveling is good for the mind setting of a person and if you want or not, you start to reflect at the most unexpected moments. Reflecting about, in my case, what I have done already in my life with travelling, studying, social life and about achieved and unachieved goals and dreams to let come true in the future. I had already lots of encounters here and I notice almost nothing is new for me and due to my travelexperience I am able to adapt easily in any circumstance. I love that.

Some of my friends asked me if I feel lonely over here, but no, I definately feel happy and since I am here i have a lot more rest in my mind. I need some ‘me’ time at the moment and I am not looking for lots of contacts now, althought I catch up enough with others,and as a matter of fact I need to work a lot too.

I can recommend everybody to travel for any purpose alone. A lot of people tell me they want it too and are jaleaus about me but is that really true? Why doesn't these people travel than? What keep them holding back? Immaterial goods creates, according to my opinion, the opportunity to have a happy life and the material sides can make people more dissapointed in life. Thanks grandpa, you also learned me that;)

My friends are all over the World and I still have my skype moments with Mexico, Iraq, USA, Australia and Costa Rica. It is fun to hear about the stories of everyone.

Ho Chi Min City, what shall I tell? I think about scooters, scooters and again scooters. People drive everywhere and don’t hesitate to drive by very close to you at the right and the left of you at the same time. Some days ago I was having my dinner on a terrace, Santa Cafe, and (liesbeth I hear our Ghana song Rich Girl now!) and there was a kind of isle in between some tables and one person with scooters drove just trhough it. It is fascinating to see how people are stuck in their World if they are participating the traffic. I have to admit I do that too now otherwise I can wait for a long time.

Last week I went with a man on a scooter, and gave him some little money, to see the whole city and that was awsome. I made pictures with the camera I got from Justin and Jus I am so happy with it. I cannot tell you that enough! Seems you are here too now he! I went to Cholon (Chinatown) and saw a temple, on my request we drove by some slums and it is weird but I expected to feel more insight while I drove by but I did not. I saw already so much of these kind of settlement that I am a kind of used to it. I think that is good for my research so I can really focus on what I need to know of the slumdwellers and i will not be affected with side aspects.

Monday I started my research and I gained already some little information but I have noticed that I have to ask my questions several times in different ways in order to get an answer and than I don’t have to expect to get the information what I needed. People are really willing to help on the other hand and I like that very much.

In the meanwhile I am trying to get some more information about NGO’s and slums and how more information I get how more difficult it becomes to sort out the usefull information. I am very busy with thinking and reading about it, but it seems I didn’t achieve a lot already. I know everything needs to get its own time and I see it as an interesting puzzle.

I went to some touropators which promote responsible travel but after asking about it they don’t have any clue about what it is. I know a lot more about everything it seems like so this can be a benefit if I use it well, but anyhow it is annoying people in the sector don’t know where they are talking about and what their business is. I hope to get more information and I expect to get of other companies and organisations where I have to go too.

In the meanwhile I am drinking Iced coffees with different flavors, Saigon beer, water and I eat Pho (vietnamese noodlesoup), yellow fried noodles with shrimps ofcourse and coli flower carrots mushrooms and some other green vegetables in it with hot sauce. Almost everything you have to eat with chopsticks so I am get used to it and Jus, it is not so horrible as in St. Louis anymore haha you know that at the Thai restaurant;) but this day was great with all surprises to get on top of the arch and athe museum and all!

I go out for lunch and dinner every day to restaurants and sit on terrace. I meet nice people if I am in the mood to socialize ofcourse and I spended already some time with some australians, english and canadian people.

Also something to tell is thatthere are a lot of high buiding which are in the width small.Where are all the houses?

There is a lot to tell about HCMC but I don’t know exaclty what to write. I can tell one thing and that is I love my travel life!

Ooh really sad new about the Dutch politics! And Sven Kramer last night on the olympics! Horrible he will miss a gold medaille now!


Cheers on you all!


  • 24 Februari 2010 - 08:56

    Benthe:

    Hoi Eef!
    Wat een gaaf verhaal! Knap hoor dat je het zo goed redt in je eentje! Ik heb bewondering voor je!
    Succes met het zoeken naar informatie voor je thesis.
    Heel veel plezier!
    Liefs,
    Benthe

  • 24 Februari 2010 - 09:24

    Sophie:

    Hoi meiske, wat een avonturen weer zeg! Echt goed van je dat je daar zit en ik wens je heel veel succes met alles! En natuurlijk veel plezier, geniet ervan, maar dat doe je zeker!
    Zorg goed voor jezelf xx

  • 24 Februari 2010 - 09:51

    Lonneke:

    Hee eef!
    Mooi verhaal! Succes daar met reizen, genieten en je thesis ;) .. je fotos zien er goed uit!:D Kusss lon xxx

  • 24 Februari 2010 - 09:52

    Sophie:

    En nice pictures! En toen ik de video keek, kwam er heel toevallig net een vliegtuig heel laag over haha!

  • 24 Februari 2010 - 14:56

    Jenny:

    Heey Eef!! Nice pictures!:) good luck with the research and take good care xxx

  • 24 Februari 2010 - 22:50

    Kiki:

    Leuke fotos eef!!

  • 25 Februari 2010 - 21:21

    Lianne:

    Toffe foto's en verslag! Heerlijk om te lezen, je maakt me jaloers!
    Geniet van alles en elke minuut!
    XX

  • 28 Februari 2010 - 16:32

    Anjuli:

    Hey Eef, heerlijk weer een nieuw avontuur!! Het ziet er in ieder geval al heerlijk uit! Geniet ervan!! Kus!

  • 01 Maart 2010 - 10:44

    Stijntje Sandra:

    Fantastisch je hebt een goede reis gehad, en je geniet, je hebt geen spijt van deze keuze.
    Alle foto s gezien, een hele andere wereld. Geniet verder, en succes met de te uitvoerende plannen. liefs stijntje sandra.

  • 01 Maart 2010 - 10:44

    Stijntje Sandra:

    Fantastisch je hebt een goede reis gehad, en je geniet, je hebt geen spijt van deze keuze.
    Alle foto s gezien, een hele andere wereld. Geniet verder, en succes met de te uitvoerende plannen. liefs stijntje sandra.

  • 01 Maart 2010 - 10:59

    Klaartje:

    heeey eef!! wat kun jij goed schrijven zeg! heel leuk en mooi verhaal! ben blij dat je je zo vermaakt daar! ben wel jaloers hoor..vooral als ik al je foto´s zie!:-) nou...heel veel succes met je research! en spreek je snel op skype en msn! dikke kuss...miss ya!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Vietnam, Hanoi

Evelien
Actief sinds 30 Nov. -0001
Verslag gelezen: 702
Totaal aantal bezoekers 71544

Voorgaande reizen:

16 Februari 2010 - 31 Maart 2010

Thesis slum tourism

Landen bezocht: