Me gusta Mexico! - Reisverslag uit Mexico-stad, Mexico van Evelien Hartman - WaarBenJij.nu Me gusta Mexico! - Reisverslag uit Mexico-stad, Mexico van Evelien Hartman - WaarBenJij.nu

Me gusta Mexico!

Door: Webmaster

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Evelien

03 Augustus 2009 | Mexico, Mexico-stad

Ik schrijf mijn verhaal in het Engels aangezien ik ook vrienden heb die geen Nederlands kunnen spreken en lezen en ook graag alles willen volgen;)


The weeks in Mexico are passing by so fast which makes I can hardly believe I have my flight back Wednesday August 5th 7.35pm.

Last week I went to Puerto Escondido, a small place with a beach with big waves where a lot of surfers want to improve their skills, want to impress everyone and a place where a bunch of backpackers find their happiness and joy and this all combined with a tropical climate and a scenic surrounding. Of course a place for me to go to! After spending almost 13 hours in the bus from Mexico City we finally arrived very early in the morning. We founded a very nice hotel to stay, with some view of the ocean. Dulce and I went immediately to the beach and although we had a lot of plans it occurred we went chillin in a hammock drinking Sol beer and coconut with coconut milk with some alcohol all the day long we spent there. Feeling the sand under your feet with interesting conversations and walking at the beach gives the ultimate relax feeling. Meeting people is very easy here and so we met some Israelic people where we spend the evenings with, with dancing and laughing in several places. Every girl wants to be treated like she is very special and that is exactly the way how I felt. It was a lot of fun and I guess I changed my mind about Israel too. It has a very interesting history and even nowadays there happens a lot. Israel a young country with a lot of possibilities where everyone fights for their country and believes. The whiskey with soda tasted good!
Me gusta Puerto Escondido with its stunning surrounding and the whole laidback backpack atmosphere!

The only negative aspect is that unfortunately my back is stolen with my camera, mobile phone, wallet with a lot of pesos and cards in it and some other stuff I couldn’t miss. As a matter of fact it didn’t spoiled my days there, I laughed all day long;) Room, thanx a lot for the help last week!!!! Knowing to be able to count on your sis gives a good feeling! Big kiss for you.

Mexico has different sights and views. Most of the time I spent in Mexico City and my first impression was that the historical centre seemed like I was in Spain and Italy according to the buildings there are. A lot of people warned me on forehand that it is not safe at all in the city but I feel very safe here and I think everywhere can happen some things. One important road with palm trees and just the way every detail look, gave me the feeling I was in Singapore.

Don’t think if you want to participate in the traffic you’ll get some rest, because Mexicans like it to drive with full speed and stop at the last moment to make a turn or wait for a traffic light. They also like it to create a third row on the road if there is only space for two rows what costs a lot of irritation and than I don’t speak about the little buses I saw. Although this is pretty annoying it gives me really the feeling I am in a different country. Especially if something goes wrong no matter what, you know you are travelling. Travelling without some issues doesn’t exist according to my opinion and I laugh a lot here. The seats in the buses which are a bit small for me because I am for here tall and I have to watch out not to bump my head to all kinds of things.

Do you ever heared of a Tuna can? That is very popular here. The amusement park Six Flags gives a lot of discount to people if they arrive with as most as possible people in one car. This means that I see lot of cars very close to the ground on the interstate and the weight which is not equally divided will cause for a crash at the road with other cars some minutes later.


What I like very much here is eating from the little market places at the streets. I like corn with some lemon and chilli on it and it is mucho barato (very cheap).

Here in the city they make a job of everything. If we want to parc the car a guys is weaving where we can parc it although we have also our won eyes to check it. After this you have to give some pesos. If you wait for a traffic light you have to be aware of people who out of the blue clean your window without asking and this costs also some pesos. There are a lot of examples to mention but giving all this people pesos every day will also create a gab in the wallet for a lot of people. So there is a lot of struggle about, but at the other hand I fully understand this people need to gain money too. Mexico is very corrupt and the government gives not everyone the chance to study and build their own good future so before arguing about all the pesos we have ti think about why this people are poor.

Not everybodig is poor ofcourse. A lot of people has a good job and can effort a nice house in the south (Tlalpan and Condesa) or the business area (Polanco). I meet a lot of nice people up here and with friends of Dulce they gave according to what Charlie told everydbody a ‘Welcome Eef’ party. We went to a house in an other state with swimmingpool an da huge garden with palm trees where we partied until the sunset. I was fun. Some people spoke English and the rest only Spanish, but I got along with everybody of the group. I learned salsa dancing at the Mexican style, yes every countries is different in this so every time you look like a beginner haha and I learned also how to drink Mexican cocktails and mixes. Whiskey with redbull has a better taste than you think on forehand and the tequila with tomato juice with chilli en lemon is terrific. The Mexican ike to drink a lot, but so much that I stop drinking on certain moments haha. I am not build for this anymore, my students life with a lot of drinks is maybe to long ago hahahah. Dulce your friends are really great and it was a pleasure to meet them!

Behalf of seeing pubs and drinking Sol beer I also went with Dulce to the Piramids of Theotihuacan what was impressing. The difference with the pyramids in Egypt is that nobody can’t enter the pyramids. They where build for some gods and predicting future. It is only possible to climb on top of it. I guess the people who lived in this forgone city, had to be in a good shape with the long distances in their empire and they where also with a length of 1.50 meter not so tall.

I also saw the sights of an old city: Puebla. This city is very nice and there are good restaurant and it is very cosy. Ooh for all the US people, Mexico won with 5-0 of the US Football team hahaha. I saw the game.

Next to Puebla is an African safari where I went to with the parents of Dulce and it was fun. Aberto and Gloria are very nice and gentle people and it is great I live with them for several weeks. They only speak Spanish but that isn’t any problem. It is cosy with them. I drunk with Alberto some liguors too and Dulce and I watched a girls movie with him. Gloria want to take care for everybody and she is sweet too.

I did so much things that I cannot bother everyone with all my stories. But actually pretty funny was my visit to a woman that is good with tarot cards and everything what she told me is how it is. She told me things she couldn’t know and now I also now I will have a interesting future haha.

I also took a Spanish course for one week but this didn’t help me at all. WE focused only
The grammar and the study book I got after two days, but the lessons where funny an I learned now how I can say in Spanish how to pick someone up from a club hahahah. Ofcourse I will not use that, you all know haha. The lessons where broad sensed.

This last days Dulce and I will go to a pub where we can taste different kind of beers with a variety in flavors. Everybody tells me this is very special. We will also meet Anjuli again tomorrow, a nice Dutch girl we met in Puerto Escondido to spend the day with. He will also has her flight back on Wednesday but unfortunately by an other airline. She is member of the same studentsclub in Utrecht where I am member of. What a small world again!

To meet Dulce here in Mexico was one the best things what I did already in this year. We know each other since begin of June and didn’t see each other before..so it was ofcourse exciting. We knew already we have a lot in common but finally here we discover more and more similarities. It is pretty funny how two girls from Holanda and Mexico can meet. Two months I didn’t know I would got to Mexico and now I am here hahahah.


I will look back at a great time here and I cannot wait to travel again, but I guess it will January 2010 for my thesis;) We will see.



I love Mexico!

Kisss, Eef

  • 04 Augustus 2009 - 05:30

    Lianne:

    Hé Eef,
    Toffe Foto's!!
    Geniet nog met volle teugen van je laatste dagen, ze zullen zóó om zijn!
    Liefs

  • 04 Augustus 2009 - 09:18

    Moniek:

    Hey Eef!!

    Leuk dat je een verhaal hebt geplaatst op je site. Meid wat heb je toch weer een mooie reis gemaakt! Zo te lezen heb je, je daar prima vermaakt. Wel balen dat je tas is gestolen. Geniet er nog ff van en al vast en goede reis terug!!
    Liefs

  • 04 Augustus 2009 - 11:04

    Kiki:

    Haaa Eef! Nog maar heel even en dan moet je alweer naar huis. Een paar weken geleden zaten we nog op het balkon te filosoferen over hoe het nou in mexico zou gaan en nu is het alweer voorbij! Jammer! Maar je hebt een top tijd gehad en de fotos bevestigen dat haha!! Goede vlucht naar huis en miss spreek ik je vanmiddag nog even via skype!

    Kusjes

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Mexico, Mexico-stad

Evelien
Actief sinds 30 Nov. -0001
Verslag gelezen: 857
Totaal aantal bezoekers 71545

Voorgaande reizen:

16 Februari 2010 - 31 Maart 2010

Thesis slum tourism

Landen bezocht: